Skip to content

Not about Abu Raed but about watching it in a Jordanian theater !

February 18, 2008

I was excited to watch a Jordanian movie, one that is not 5 or 10 minutes long, so we went to Grand in City Mall, at the beginning it was just the two of us (me and my friend) but later on people started to come. Two young boys were seated next to me and one of them started counting the people in the theater, at first It was some how funny but he couldn’t stop !

Some people started to pre-translate the Arabic words to English and they were racing the written subtitle ! why? I mean all of us were Jordanian, no one asked for a live translation ! some started to enlighten us about Jordanian locations, this is abdali this is jabal amman blah blah, you can do that but lose the loud voice!

What always amazes me that some of our people really do not know how to watch a movie, they laugh when they are supposed to cry or at least be a little bit sad.

I think our nation needs a lot of education on how to act in certain places and situations.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2008 11:20 am

    Ahhhh! You’re going to make me cry
    read this: The art of Movie-watching and فن حضور السينما

  2. Samara permalink
    February 18, 2008 3:36 pm

    like loving your enemy and hating your friends. we need to look into that.

  3. February 18, 2008 7:46 pm

    Wehen I watched it the cinema was quiet, no one laughed when they shouldn’t, no one made noises… When the lights went on, we saw that, except for a few people, all the audience were elderly foreign people

  4. February 18, 2008 10:20 pm

    This is so true man! this is so true!
    it neeeeeds time for us to get civilized.. THE REAL WAY! :s

  5. February 18, 2008 11:29 pm

    I know! I remember things like talking loudly the whole time, or clapping when the movie ends. I mean why? Some would go as fasr as throwing things at you or starting a fight … People are annoying :\

    I think Jordan needs to improve in things like customer service and general rules of etiquette and common courtesy. I said it before, I say it now, and I will say it again.

    🙂

  6. February 19, 2008 1:27 am

    Qwaider: maybe you should start “the art of movie-watching” courses soon 😀

    Ola: “all the audience were elderly foreign people” thats why !

    I think having such cases in our people in streets, cars, theaters and everywhere else rise the possibility of heart attacks and high blood pressure , really !

  7. February 19, 2008 1:57 am

    Khalas .. I will .. and I “volunteer” you to give “No smoking int theaters 101” 🙂

Leave a Reply

